a memory

My first science experiement took place crouched in my bedroom closet. I was eight. I don’t know what posessed me to start mixing chemicals together but I believe it had something to do with ants. Dad kept trying to kill the fire-ants in the yard and never had much luck. None of the stuff he got at the store would work.

I didn’t understand this, considering my mother had warned me so often about Windex. She said it would make me have pneumonia – which I alredy knew made people die. Actually, she was probably just telling me it had amonia in it but I didn’t understand the difference. I figured those ants could get pneumonia from it too.

Determined to make something that would kill anything, I sneaked all sorts of bottles out from the cabinets – lysol, peroxide, iodine, baby powder, alcohol, dish soap, and of course, windex. I used the little dixie cups from the dispenser in the bathroom and created all sorts of concoctions.

At the annual Railroad Festival, Dad had bought me a wooden, screened in bug house and a butterfly net. I used it to trap all sorts of crawly critters to torture with my poisons. It’s really a wonder I didn’t poison myself, but I was careful not to breathe any of it in so I didn’t get pneumonia.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

